About Us


The establishment of the Association of Ministerial PJPs Ltd (a Company Limited by Guarantee) on 5 May 2016 marked an historic development for the Australian Church in relation to lay ecclesial leadership.  The Association is the peak body for the new Australian ministerial public juridic persons (PJPs).

In recent years religious institutes have instigated the creation of ministerial PJPs as a new model of sponsorship and lay leadership for their ministries, to ensure their continuation as works of the Catholic Church.  To distinguish the new entities relating to Church ministries from traditional PJPs, such as parishes, dioceses and religious institutes that have a more organisational focus, they are often given the tag ‘ministerial’ public juridic persons.   

The establishing authority for the new entities has varied – some PJPs have been established by the Holy See through the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life and are known as PJPs of pontifical right.  Others have been authorised by Diocesan or Provincial Bishops. 

While the model varies, such religious-lay partnerships have in common the continuation of Church ministries and are authorised for this apostolate through their establishment as new entities under the Code of Canon Law. These ministerial PJPs provide for long-term stable governance of the ministries and continuance of their Catholic identity with the responsible trustees or directors (canonical stewards) of the PJP generally having both canonical and civil responsibility for the ministries entrusted to them.

For three years the Australian ministerial PJPs worked together to put in place an ‘umbrella’ body to support their canonical stewards in the ministry of governance (comparable to Catholic Religious Australia for the religious institutes). Such a development was also important as a means for the PJPs to interact formally with one another and, in a corporate sense, with the Bishops and Church agencies.

AMPJP Annual Report-2018-2019


In fostering the ministry of canonical governance, the Association of Ministerial PJPs, supports its members to flourish individually and together in communion with the Catholic Church.


Our Vision is for flourishing, vibrant Catholic ministries governed by well-formed members, continuing Jesus' mission in Australia and beyond in the 21st century.


inclusive, relational, collaborative and prophetic.

Objects and Aims
The charitable objects of the new Association identified in its constitution are:
  1. offering a contemporary, encouraging example of Christ’s mission at work in the world – “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full” (John 10:10)
  2. actively enabling the co-responsibility of laity and clergy for the life of the Church and its ministries
  3. facilitating collegial interaction between canonical stewards of the member PJPs
  4. providing the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference, Catholic Religious Australia, their respective members and other Catholic entities with a point of liaison with member PJPs and their canonical stewards
  5. supporting canonical stewards in their ministry of governance by -
    1. fostering the capability of current and future canonical stewards, including through facilitating formation activities and qualifications to support canonical stewards and their staff
    2. facilitating access to canonical governance and related advice
    3. communicating to the member PJPs relevant matters of significance
  6. promoting and proclaiming Catholic identity as an integral part of the PJPs ministries.

The number of Members of the Company is unlimited and consists of

  1. Founding Members; and
  2. any other eligible entity that is admitted as a Member, in accordance with the constitution.

An entity is eligible to be a Member of the Company if, and only for the period when, it is a legal entity representing a Public Juridical Person or an Association of Christ’s Faithful.

Founding Members

Members joining after commencement



Each member of the association appoints a representative. At the Association’s Annual General Meeting held in Melbourne on 25th August 2019 the following were elected for a two-year term as members of the AMPJP Council (Board of Directors):

The 2019-2021 AMPJP Council is:

  • Professor Peter Steane (representative of Catholic Healthcare)
  • Sr Julianna Drobik OP (representative of Dominican Education Australia)
  • Moira Najdecki (representative of Good Samaritan Education)
  • Rosemary Copeland (representative of Kildare Ministries)
  • Jennifer Stratton (representative of MercyCare)
  • Dr Tessa Ho (representative of Trustees of Mary Aikenhead Ministries)
  • Eva Skira AM (representative of St John of God Australia)

Below is a photo of all of the member representatives at the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

Back: Peter Pritchard (Sophia Education Ministries) ; Moira Najdecki (Good Samaritan Education); Professor Peter Steane (Catholic Healthcare); Kieran McCarthy (Mercy Partners); Jennifer Stratton (MercyCare)

Front:  Rosemary Copeland (Kildare Ministries); Dr  Tessa Ho (Mary Aikenhead Ministries); Eva Skira (St John of God Australia);  Julianna Drobik OP (Dominican Education Australia); David Penny (Calvary Ministries)

Missing: Phil Billington (Edmund Rice Education Australia)


Executive Officer: Lawrie Hallinan


Would you like to receive our newsletter on a monthly basis?